Please click on the Link to sign into Accelerated Reader 





What Is Accelerated Reader?

Accelerated Reader is a computer programme that helps teachers manage and monitor children’s independent reading practice. Your child picks a book at his or her own level and reads it at his or her own pace. When finished, your child takes a short quiz on the computer (passing the quiz is an indication that your child understood what was read). Accelerated Reader gives children teacher feedback based on the quiz results which the teacher then uses to help your child set targets and direct ongoing reading development.
Children using Accelerated Reader choose their own books to read, rather than having one assigned to them. This makes reading a much more enjoyable experience as they can choose books that are interesting to them. Teachers and librarians help your child choose books at an appropriate readability level that are challenging without being frustrating, ensuring that your child can pass
the quiz and experience success.

If your child does not do well on the quiz, the teacher may help your child:
• to choose another book that is more appropriate.
• to ask more probing questions as your child reads and before your child takes a quiz.
• pair your child with another pupil.
• have the book read to your child.

In most cases, children really enjoy taking the quizzes. Since they are reading books at their reading and interest levels, they are likely to be successful. This is satisfying for most children. Best of all, they learn and grow at their own pace.


What Is the ATOS Book Level?

Book level represents the difficulty of the text. Book levels are determined using the ATOS readability formula. For example, a book level of 4.5 means the text could likely be read independently by a typical fourth-year pupil in the fifth month of school. The content of the book, however, may or may not be appropriate. The interest level will give you a recommendation of the appropriateness of the content.


What Is the Interest Level?

The interest level attached to the book indicates age group appropriateness. Interest level is based on a book’s content including theme, characterisation and plot. The interest levels are based on the recommendations of the publisher and/or literary book reviews by professional organisations. However, the final decision on whether the content of a book is appropriate for a particular child is left to parents, school librarians and teachers.
To help you choose the books most appropriate for your children, Accelerated Reader Quizzes are divided into four interest levels:
• LY (Lower Years, Ages 5–8)
• MY (Middle Years, Ages 9–13)
• MY+ (Middle Years Plus, Ages 12 and above)
• UY (Upper Years, Ages 14 and above)